Still Summer

I was wrong on my last post about Summer being that one day!

A cracking weekend to be out.

I’d arranged to take my nephew for a cycle so his Mum and him brought his MTB to Perth I went to see them Thursday and was met by a sorry state. No not my sister but the MTB (Which had been mine until I passed it on). Flat Tyres, Chain dry and corroded, Front derailleur not changing properly, all minor quick fix issues as the bike had been in the shed all last year while he was at Uni. The worst was the brakes. No back brake pressure. I’d just acquired a bleed kit and oil so first time using it and success. Loads of air purged from the system and brakes functioning. So Friday was safely back on. A social 90 min pedal and catch up made for a good start to the weekend and nephew and his mother sent home with instructions on chain and mech cleaning.

Saturday dawned nice and bright and in a first for this year bare arms and knees saw the cycling fresh air.

Heading down Newhouse road to start, I was nearly taken out by an impatient driver pulling out on me. Then it was out the usual road to Tibbermore and towards St Davids. I had to remind myself not to loop back and to carry on to Crieff. A cut through on Southwood road meant I avoided the Saturday Morning shoppers on main street Crieff and the Aldi shoppers were not to troublesome. Out the Strowan road and it’s one of these least travelled road that each time I do I tell myself not to leave it so long to return next time. Its a most enjoyable road to cycle with cracking views over to the Monument above Comrie. A quick stop next to Comrie dead centre for a drink and refuel before the Culty Braggen climb.

Plenty of cyclists piling down the hill towards Comrie as I headed up. I spied a MTB’er and decided not to blast on to catch him. Small blue car passed me as I neared this cyclist but then the car got held behind him on the blind bends. Which in turn then made me back off and slow down. Yes I had to slow on a climb and not because if my inadequacies. Once the car got passed I was able to carry on my merry way past the MTB’er who was dressed in tartan shorts and jersey. Not quite at the top at Culach I took the Muthill turn which to me was “off highlighter” A cracking road which which be revisited. Again in Saturdays sunshine it was a pleasant road and cracking views taking you down past Muthil Golf Course.

Back road now with plans to reach Kinkell Bridge. However I was distracted when passed by a Lincoln car on UK plates and missed my turn. No issue on up to Tallibardine and then hand a left to Kinkell Bridge.

Right on to the Findo Gask Road and I quickly regretted the decision. The fresh smooth tarmac of the previous week has now been overlayed and top dressed with granite chips. The fresh piles of chips were not fun to cycle over and none of the passing motorists could understand the “Max Speed 10” signs. No coffee stop at Gloagburn today but straight home.

Sunday was a short loop after the previous days 55 miles. My legs were not happy going up Necessity Brae or later when I tried the Wilson Street Burst but at least there was more fresh tarmac to end the ride on and this time without the top dressing of granite chips! The legs felt much better for that ride.

Cracking weekend and what would appear to have been my longest ride of the year which is a shocking admission. But there again, not as far and as sore as Si on the Cairn o’Mount.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.