Glory or cost

Setting off on this first 40 miler of the year, second run with the knees out, we headed up Whitelea Road. I gave the usual pep talk about how this was the highest point on the whole run. ( It does not mean the rest of the run is flat).

Simon claims the 30’s at Guildton, as I snort “sod this”. I have a hangover, and just feel tired. We then headed down towards the racecourse, Simon thinks he is going to claim a second 30 by turning off the ”main” road into Stormontfield – he is disabused of this foolish behaviour. ( I saw this once before where Alan and John did something similar at Inverarity). Any way onward to Old Scone and then along the main road to Perth… I got this 30’ at Quarry Mill.

Rolling round the inch and then up the side of the A9 we take the back road in to Luncarty. Leaving Luncarty, we three pile along the road to Stanley.  Going through Stanley a car driver parped his horn at us… clearly this old curmudgeon was just desperate to get to church. So desperate he cut Simon really close. Andy asked if we knew the car driver because of the parping.

On the Airntully road  now, it’s a lot more lumpy than I had remembered.  Heading to Murthly “it’s only 1 mile to coffee” Simon gets goaded in to a pace up for the 40’s… lol and then sits on his crossbar, froomy style, I see my chance and go for it, a bit of straightening out the bends and pressing quite hard on the pedals we race – Simon wins by less than half a wheel. Andy is in hysterics at the childish behaviour.

We are sitting outside at Murthly gulping our paid for coffee and devouring the scones, when some more cyclists arrive – I call out, “you will have to go somewhere else, the bike rack is full” Andy, sprays his coffee and is now laughing so hard he  gets a stitch. I don’t know what impression Andy has of me – but I had to explain that I knew the cyclists (Jim Callum, Barry and another). Given last weeks rule of you walk you pay – I came up with a new 30’s rule… “If you are winning the 30’s count on a run, you buy the coffees” a sort of tax on taking to 30’s. Obviously this is just not going to happen!

Refreshed we head for Caputh, I don’t contest the 30, neither does Andy. Spittlefield next, now there is a segment from the top of the hill to the 30’s – I like to do this… but today as we crested the hill, there was too much head wind, so I backed off. Simon spying the 30’s starts his acceleration  and he quickly takes the 30 – no he does not – he got to the 30 with the three bars… seeing he had backed off mistakenly, I put the hammer down and crash past to take the actual 30’s.

We head up the Lethenday road through the Stone circle and get to the junction, Andy gets the jump on us here and we are heading to the Golf Course Road. Simon and I both notice the left turn before GCR had a 30 right at the road end… we behave most badly and are now racing for the GCR 30’s – I have a choice, he has the line – do I squeeze him out or go wide at the corner… I go wide. Now, Andy didn’t appreciate the 30 was at the road end and shot past us on GCR… we reeled him in, he thought the 30’s were further along.

We take the back road to Coupar, well nearly Coupar… the head wind was awful.

Andy goes right to Blair’ and Simon and I head back to the start… in all a 44 mile run for us … Andy a bit more.

No run next week being set by me, due to family birthdays etc etc.

 

About spokeclinic

The FB cyclist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Glory or cost

  1. David says:

    Children:-) Sounds just what Sunday mornings should be like.

  2. Simon Evans says:

    Absolutely !!

Leave a Reply

